pylon design competition

Chris Huhne the current Energy secretary recently announced a competition for a new Pylon design, to carry electricity from all the new off-shore & wind turbines that National Grid will be building.
I thought crikey…when it comes to public bits of metalwork all over the country, it doesn’t get any bigger than that – how can I not at least have a stab at it. I just got my rejection letter yesterday, but am still really pleased that I put myself through the paces of what was actually rather a demanding brief with lots of technical demands and issues and requirements that were quite a challenge. All the time my head was screaming “dont bother dont bother – all the top architects & engineers from Norman Foster & Thomas Heatherwick etc will be going for it – dont waste your time” but I couldn’t let it go. The competition was managed by RIBA.
Along with a load of written stuff, everyone had to submit an A1 board which had to include a picture of your pylon dropped into a landscape which they provided. I had to make a maquette of my idea and photograph it as my drawing skills aren’t really up to the slickness I assume they require. Any, here’s my (rejected) submission:

About Mr Watt

I'm the Grumpy Man of Metal. What more do you need to know? Bah!
This entry was posted in Mr Watt Goes to the Museum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pylon design competition

  1. johnny no furniture. says:

    I would have picked yours Jon, the other entrants were all a little tame looking.
    Now, please make some pieces of furniture and start a shop section on your site.

Leave a Reply

